About UK Seafood Competition

The Young Seafood Chef of the Year Competition was founded in 1996 by the Grimsby Institute of Further & Higher Education’s Hospitality Department.

At that time, the tutors and industry specialists who worked in the department training young chefs recognised that there were no existing seafood specific competitions, aimed at colleges to showcase the skills of their students.

Since its inception the competition has gone from strength-to-strength, gaining more entries from colleges all over the UK each year.

As well as the fantastic prizes on offer to the winners of the competition, the competing chefs are provided with a platform to showcase what they are capable of to industry new and inventive ways in which to use sustainable seafood, pushing the boundaries of the culinary imagination.

Young Seafood Chef of the Year 2017
William Bolsover and Niall Frith, Kendal College

Previous winners:

2016 – Charlotte Crudgington and Shannon Crowe, Westminster Kingsway College
2015 – Bozadir Abramanov and Tim Jones, University College Birmingham
2014 - South Essex College
2013 – Kendal College
2012 - University College Birmingham
2011 - Manchester College
2010 - The Grimsby Institute of Further & Higher Education
2009 - University College Birmingham
2008 - Kendal College
2007 - University College Birmingham
2006 - Guernsey College of Further Education
2005 - Castle College Sheffield
2004 - Thanet College
2003 - Westminster Kingsway College
2002 - Thanet College
2001 - University College Birmingham
2000 - Cambridge Regional College
1999 - University College Birmingham